Sat, 13 Jul 2024


RM10 million dividend sign of Sabah Credit Corporation’s excellent performance: Hajiji
Published on: Thursday, June 13, 2024
By: Ricardo Unto
Text Size:

RM10 million dividend sign of Sabah Credit Corporation’s excellent performance: Hajiji
Hajiji also officiated the Cashless Tuaran programme
Tuaran: Sabah Credit Corporation’s (SCC) consistent performance has enabled it to pay an interim dividend of RM10 million for 2023, said Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor.

He said this is one of the signs of SCC’s excellence in its service delivery.

“I am very pleased with SCC’s steps and initiatives to redesign existing financing policies, create suitable products for various groups and establish more customer service centres and mobile offices,” he said, when launching the SCC client service centre, Wednesday.

“I hope with the Customer Service Centre, SCC’s services and financial facilities will ease transactions and benefit residents in Tuaran and neighbouring areas.

“All these initiatives align with the direction and enablers of Sabah Maju Jaya (SMJ): Financial Facilities and the Effectiveness and Efficiency of Service Delivery.”

During the event, Hajiji also officiated the Cashless Tuaran programme.

“The Cashless Tuaran programme is a step towards achieving the Digital Government goal of cashless financial transactions and a broader initiative by the government under the Malaysia Digital Economy Blueprint and the Financial Sector Blueprint 2022-2026.

He said cashless transactions offer many benefits, including more accessible, faster, and safer payment methods. 

This initiative not only facilitates daily transactions but also addresses the issue of ATM shortages in rural areas.

To ensure cashless payments benefit the people, the Federal and State Governments are consistently working to ensure the availability of communication infrastructure, including efforts to expedite the completion of 398 telecommunications towers across Sabah under the National Digital Network (Jendela) plan.

Various initiatives have been announced, such as using Digital Signatures and Digital Certificates for official government dealings and issuing certificates, licences, or permits by State Government agencies. 

Digital Signatures and Digital Certificates are also an effort to reduce physical services through counters.

State Government application systems will be equipped with online payment acceptance services, and a payment portal named “BayuPay” will be launched soon. 

Additionally, the concept of Electronically Know Your Customer (eKYC) will be implemented so that all registrations for government services will not require the public to visit government offices for assistance or services physically.

“The State Government, through the Sabah Science, Technology, and Innovation Ministry (KSTI), remains committed to providing digital infrastructure in rural areas of Sabah.

“To support and accelerate the use of digital financial services and strengthen inclusivity in Sabah, 300 locations across Sabah have been equipped with VSAT Starlink technology via Sabah Net to expand access to financial services in rural areas.

“SabahNet is now collaborating with Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) and its affiliated banks as part of Sabah Net’s digital financial enablement initiative for underserved communities.

“This is to encourage access to financial services, narrow the digital divide between urban and rural areas, and promote financial literacy, in line with the SMJ direction to empower the digital economy,” he said.

He hoped the Cashless Tuaran programme, a collaboration initiative between SCC and United Overseas Bank (UOB) aimed at declaring the district as a cashless zone by educating the public on the use of online and QR payments, would achieve its goals and gain support from the district’s residents.

CEO George Taitim Tulas said the centre’s opening is one of SCC’s initiatives to bring its services closer to customers’ doorsteps.

SCC now has 22 client centres, including its headquarters in Penampang. Thirteen of them are main district client centres, namely in UTC Sabah, Alamesra, Kota Belud, Kota Marudu, Kudat, Ranau, Keningau, Tenom, Beaufort, Papar, Sandakan, Lahad Datu and Tawau.

“The smaller centres, named customer service centres, are in Telupid, Semporna, Beluran, Kinabatangan, Sipitang, Sook, Tambunan, and the latest in Tuaran.”

* Follow us on Instagram and join our Telegram and/or WhatsApp channel(s) for the latest news you don't want to miss.

* Do you have access to the Daily Express e-paper and online exclusive news? Check out subscription plans available.


Top Stories Today

Sabah Top Stories

Follow Us  

Follow us              

Daily Express TV  

Try 1 month for RM 18.00
Already a subscriber? Login here

Try 1 month for RM 18.00

Already a subscriber? Login here