Anwar to contest in Port Dickson
Published on: Thursday, September 13, 2018

Kuala Lumpur: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (pic) said he has contacted Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to inform him of the decision to contest the Port Dickson parliamentary seat.Anwar said he will continue to support the Prime Minister's leadership in moving the country forward.

"I was moved by Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah's stance, as well as his personality," he said in an interview with Astro Awani via Skype, referring to the former Port Dickson MP.

"He did not discuss about pulling back, but rather sticking around to form a cohesive team together," added Anwar.

It was confirmed earlier that Anwar will be contesting the seat as part of the plan for him to return to Parliament as a federal lawmaker.

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof also confirmed he has received Danyal's letter announcing his decision to resign as MP.

Present during Anwar's press conference was incumbent PKR Vice-President Rafizi Ramli, PKR Secretary-General Datuk Saifuddin Nasution, Sungai Petani MP Datuk Johari Abdul and Wangsa Maju MP Datin Paduka Dr Tan Yee Kew.

Danyal will be vacating his seat to pave way for another by-election to take place.

The incoming by-election, triggered by Danyal's exit, will be the fourth held since GE14, following Sungai Kandis and the recently concluded Balakong and Seri Setia polls on Sept 8.

The announcement also puts to end immense speculation over which seat Anwar would be contesting, as top party sources have previously short listed three seats namely Sungai Petani, Alor Setar and Port Dickson.

Danyal, a former naval officer, previously said he supported PKR since 2008, but is believed to have officially joined the party as a member just recently, according to party sources.

He also previously said that his choice to contest the Port Dickson seat in GE14, was an eleventh hour decision made by top party leaders.

In the 14th General Election, Danyal won the Port Dickson seat with 36,225 votes while VS Mogan of Barisan Nasional tallied 18,515 votes and PAS' Mahfuz Roslan garnered 6,594 votes.

This gave Danyal a comfortable majority of 17, 710 votes.


Other News

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

National Top Stories