Home / Local News

DAP wins big in Sandakan
Published on: Thursday, May 10, 2018

Sandakan: The three candidates fielded by Democratic Action Party (DAP) in P.186 Sandakan, N.45 Elopura and N.46 Tanjung Papat here won big in their respective seats in this 14th General Election. Sabah DAP Chairman Stephen Wong Tien Fatt, 64, won with an impressive majority of 10,098 votes, beating the Vice President of LDP, Datuk Lim Ming Hoo, 56, who contested under the Barisan Nasional (BN) ticket.

Stephen garnered 19,094 votes against Lim's 8,996 in a straight fight, thus, successfully retained the Sandakan parliamentary seat for two consecutive terms.

A total of 28,668 voters cast their votes from 39,777 registered voters in Sandakan.

There were 502 rejected ballots.

As for Elopura, DAP's Chong Ket Kiun, 41, won with a majority of 6,647 votes in a straight fight with BN's Chan Tzun Hei, 35, who contested for the first time.

Chong garnered 12,219 votes while Chan, 5,572 votes.

There were 25,285 registered voters in Elopura but only 17,740 cast their votes. A total of 256 votes were rejected.

Meanwhile, Frankie Poon Ming Fung (DAP) won the Tanjung Papat in a three-cornered fight against Datuk Seri Panglima Raymond Tan Shu Kiah and a young independent, Jufazli Shi Ahmad, 29, with a majority of 1,816 votes.

Frankie garnered 5,818 votes while Raymond 4,002 votes and Jufazli, 533 votes.

The results were announced at 11.12pm by the Returning Officer, Haji Hamsan Haji Awang Supain, at the Sandakan Community Hall. - Winnie Kasmir


Other News
Top Stories Today


Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Local Top Stories